Books

Review | Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan

18373213

I don’t dally very often into crack lit — but, oh man. This was so worth it.

So good.

So, so good.

Crazy Rich Asians was – for the longest time – the book I’d mull over at airport newsstands. Attractive minimalist cover, interesting concept, but so far from my usual preferences that I’d return it to the shelf with a half-amused chuckle.

Sure, I’d tell myself. I’ll read this the same day I wake up two hours early to curl my hair and willingly book a manicure.

i.e., never ever.

… then the movie was released. Trendy, rom-com-y, very silly; and yet, strangely genuine and heart-warming.

How can you not fall in-love with that?

My only regret with Crazy Rich Asians is not reading the book sooner. Now, don’t get me wrong: this is some seriously trashy literature. Literature which, by all accounts, you should hate … cluttered with insufferable side-characters; chalk full of stereotypes; numerous rambling asides; rapidly alternating perspectives; and excessive use of footnotes. I’m pretty sure the cover quote ( … “A Pride and Prejudice-like send-up”) has Jane Austen purists frothing at the mouth.

Sorry. Not sorry.

While the book definitely has more bite than the movie, it nonetheless offers a fun romp through the world of the super rich. And, as much of the story takes place in Singapore (currently +26*C, 7AM), it had the additional perk of providing an escape from a blisteringly cold winter weekend (currently -33*C, 7PM).

For the record, I have yet to wake up two hours early to curl my hair and to willingly book a manicure.


The Details:

  • The Book: Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan
  • Published: 2013, Anchor
  • My Copy: KFPL
  • Read date: January 15-20, 2019
  • Rating: ★★★★☆
  • You should read this if you likehaute couture name dropping
  • Avoid this if you dislike … gossip

6 thoughts on “Review | Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan”

Leave a comment