Books

2021 | In which we (mid-year) freak out

It’s that time of year again …


What is the best book that you’ve read so far in 2021?

Without a doubt, The Daevabad Trilogy by S.A. Chakraborty. These books are the complete package … action, adventure, amazing world-building, romance, magic, and flawed characters.


What has been your favourite sequel of the first half of the year?

I don’t think I’ve ever been more pleased with a not-really-wanted sequel. Nesta was complex and relatable, and I loved her growth.


Is there a new release that you haven’t read yet but you’re really excited for?

… oh, a bunch! The Hidden Place, In The Ravenous Dark, and The Coward are just three of them.


What is your most anticipated release for the second half of the year?

Even having re-read the web comic about a dozen times, I’m insanely excited for the release of physical Lore Olympus book. It hits shelves on October 5.


What is your biggest disappointment so far?

Learning to Die … It came highly recommended from a friend, and I normally enjoy reading books about the climate crisis.


What is your biggest surprise so far?

I wasn’t a huge Novik fan at the start of the year, but His Majesty’s Dragon changed my mind. This book was utterly delightful!


What is your favourite new-to-you or debut author?

Pass! I’ve encountered a few new authors this year, but I wouldn’t elevate any of them to “favourite”.


What is your new favourite character?

Modeus and Lucia from Suitor Armour … They’re both amazing!


A book that made you cry?

None yet!


A book that made you happy?

An Enchantment of Ravens is my go-to comfort read … It’s the words-on-paper version of a grilled cheese sandwich.


What is the most beautiful book that you have bought?

No explanation needed.


What books do you want to read by the end of the year?

… and my TBR continues to grow.

2 thoughts on “2021 | In which we (mid-year) freak out”

Leave a comment