Books

T10T | Spring 2020 TBR

Happy Top Ten Tuesday, y’all! Today’s prompt is ten books on my spring TBR!

My spring reading plans have been severely disrupted by COVID-19: I wound up leaving my apartment on rather short notice, and my books were some of the things left behind. (A pox on luggage weight restrictions!)

I’ve relocated to my family home, and have rejigged my TBR to reflect what’s available. While I’m a mood reader and entirely expect this list to change, ten books that I’m currently looking forward to are …


The Ten Thousand Doors of January by Alix E. Harrow. My current read. While it’s taken a little bit to get into this book — thanks, slump brain!Ten Thousand Doors is proving to be an imaginative, fun, and well-written tale. At this point, I’d definitely recommend.

A Natural History of Dragons by Marie Brennan. I read Dragons a few years back and really enjoyed it! … but never got around to picking up the later books in the series. They’re lying in wait!

Skyward by Brandon Sanderson. Highly recommended by a fellow postdoc, who has read this book no less than three times!

The Nobody People by Bob Proehl. The X-men-y vibe caught my attention. Also: bonus points for supporting my local bookstore!

The Haunting of Vancouver Island by Shanon Sinn. Sometimes, my vacuum cleaner just turns on. And I’ve definitely seen a ghost before. This is one for 2PM on a sunny Sunday … followed by Disney movies.

Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo. Continuing with my Grishaverse sorta-re-read.

Bone Crier’s Moon by Kathryn Purdie. This book is definitely making its hype-filled rounds — probably in no small part due to Charlie Bowater’s amazing cover art. Many of the reviews seem favourable … and I’m really in need of a easy-but-interesting YA read.

The Starless Sea by Erin Morgenstern. Also highly recommended by my fellow postdoc. (Jeez, we’re going to have so much to talk about when we’re back from self-isolation!)

Vicious by V. E. Schwab. I’ve started this book four times. THIS will be the time I actually finish it!

The Watchers by Jon Steele. It’s been a few years since I read this series, and something about PTSD angels and the apocalypse feels right at this moment. I wonder why? 😉