Books

Tag | T10T: Childhood TBRs

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly prompt by The Broke and the Bookish and The Artsy Reader Girl. The list is 400+ strong — so, not wanting to miss anything, I started at prompt #1. This week’s prompt is “Books I Wish I Read as a Kid“.


  • Winnie the Pooh by A. A. Milne – This one’s a bit embarrassing to admit, given that Winnie the Pooh was inspired by an actual Canadian bear … and given the amount of Winnie the Pooh I watched during my childhood.
  • Mary Poppins by P. L. Travers – Everyone should read this book purely for the sass. Mary Poppins is the nanny that EVERYONE needs.
  • 🍁 Anne of Green Gables by L. M. Montgomery – I was supposed to read this during my intermediate years … but found it super boring. I watched the 1985 TV series a few years ago and – surprisingly – really enjoyed it. I probably should pick up the books one day …
  • A collection of Polish fairy tales – Shout-out to half of my heritage, which I know almost nothing about.
  • A collection of Scottish fairy tales – Shout-out to the other half of my heritage, which I know slightly more about.
  • Hans Christian Anderson’s Fairy Tales – We all know the stories … but I’ve never read them. Given my grade 3 obsession with Ariel, it seems like a good idea.
  • The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry – Maybe my parents never read this book because they knew that they would *also* start ugly crying?

Rounding it off with books that I wish had been published when I was a kid:

  • Llama Destroys the World by Jonathan Stutzman – I honestly couldn’t believe this book existed when I spotted it on the shelf.
    • On Monday, Llama discovers a pile of cake, which he promptly eats.
      On Tuesday, Llama squeezes into his dancing pants, which he promptly rips.
      The force of the rip creates a black hole (naturally).
      By Friday, Llama will (indirectly) destroy the world.
  • Dragons Love Tacos by Adam Rubin – It has “dragons” and “tacos” in the title. It literally cannot go wrong.
  • 🍁 Sweetest Kulu by Celina Kalluk – Bonus points for being written by an Inuit author! The book tells the gifts given to a newborn baby by all the animals of the Arctic.