Books

Review | The Princess Will Save You by Sarah Henning

Alright. I’m a little late to the game on this one … but, books find you at the right time.

The Princess Will Save You is a girl-power infused 💪🏻 retelling of The Princess Bride. After stable boy Luca is kidnapped, Princess Amarande stops at nothing – like, she doesn’t even change out of her ball gown – to save him. The quest brings her across deserts, into enemy territory, and even – briefly – into slavery.

I read this book about a week after defending my PhD, and it was exactly what I needed: a familiar plot, an inspiring female lead, and a lot of fun. I have Book #2, The Queen Will Betray You, currently on order!

Cons? It might be a bit sacrilege to say this … but I disliked the overt Princess Bride references. I’m not a huge fan of the movie, and the devices borrowed weighed down the plot and detracted from the character growth. The basic premise – princess saves stable boy – was lovely. The nearly dead scene? Meh.


The details:

  • The book: The Princess Will Save You
  • Author: Sarah Henning
  • Publication: Tor Teen, 2020
  • My copy: Personal copy
  • Read dates: April 2021
  • Rating/5: 👑👑👑👑

7 thoughts on “Review | The Princess Will Save You by Sarah Henning”

Leave a comment