Books

Review | His Favourites by Kate Walbert

I’ve had His Favourites sitting on my shelf for a couple years … it was one of my Book-a-Month selections, and the accompanying note raved about it. For multiple different reasons, I didn’t have the headspace to tackle it until recently.

… which turned out to be a good call, for sure. This is a heavy book.


What’s it about?

Honestly, I thought His Favourites was a dark academia … something like Ninth House or Bunny.

It is dark …

And it is academia …

But there are no magical spells or cults or strange deer men.

His Favourites is a fictionalized account of a young woman who – for many months/years – sustains horrific sexual abuse at the hands of her teacher.

The story darts across time, ranging from the early 1980s to 2000s: one part retrospective, one part impact statement, one part reflection. The parts blur together in a quasi stream-of-consciousness manner … a bit discombobulating, so that you never know exactly where you stand.


First lines:

This is not a story I’ve told before. No one would believe me. I mean, really believe me.


Highs and lows:

✔️ The writing. The text is poetic – but not in a pretentious way. It’s an easy, immersive, and utterly impactful style.

✔️ It’s multi-layered. One of the things I’ve struggled with lately is story length … books that are far too long (cough) for what actually occurs in the text. (Why, oh why, are you wasting my time with 800 pages when it could easily fit in 200?) His Favourites is a prime example of what good, efficient storytelling is like. In 160 pages we get a commentary on power/trust/sexuality, female relationships, and a compelling autobiographical-esque tale … all wrapped up in fantastic language and some experimental devices.

✔️ It was a visceral reading experience. Like, I felt physically nauseous as I read.

I say / He says. Oh. Yeah. Stylistic device, for sure …

No, I say. In no moral universe would this not be a crime, I say.
I was a child, I tell him.
Shame on you, I say. Shame on you, I say. Shame on you.
And he laughs and reaches out for me.
“You are cute as pie when you’re angry,” he says.
“Come here,” he says.
“How old are you again?” he says.
“Close your eyes,” he says.

But, please stop. There’s so much of it across the book.


Final thoughts:

This was not the book I was expecting … There are no magical universities here.

But, am I glad I read it? Undoubtedly. His Favourites was utterly horrific – but, given continuing violence against women, it’s an important book. Fictional, yes … but, more personal and impactful than a lot of non-fictions that I’ve read.

Just give yourself some space after you’re done. This is an intense 160 pages.


The details:

  • The book: His Favourites
  • Author: Kate Walbert
  • Publication: 2018, Scribner
  • My copy: Personal copy
  • Read dates: March 2021
  • Rating/5: 👗👗👗👗

7 thoughts on “Review | His Favourites by Kate Walbert”

Leave a comment