Books

Review | The Truth About Magic by Atticus

Review

the-truth-about-magicLet’s start with the facts …

The Truth About Magic is a collection of poetry by Atticus, who — if I understand correctly — is some sort of Instagram poetry star. I wouldn’t know: I’m not on Instagram and this sort of tripe certainly doesn’t inspire me to sign up for an account.

… facts. facts. facts.

This book is Atticus’s third published collection, billed as being “romantic and deeply moving.” The summary continues:

Atticus takes us on adventure to discover the truth about magic. Through heartbreak and falling in love, looking back and looking inward, he writes about finding ourselves, finding our purpose, and the simple joys of life with grace, wit, and longing. Whether it’s drinking wine out of oak barrels, laughing until you cry, dancing in old barns until the sun comes up, or making love on sandy beaches, Atticus reminds us that magic is everywhere―we simply have to look for it.

How would I describe this book?

The lovechild of Taylor Swift and Rupi Kaur. Not in a good way.

Poetry for sad middle-aged women who have an unironic “It’s Wine o’Clock” clock in their living room.

Fortune cookies.

Verse written by a hipster 16-year-old who is DEFINITELY in love.

But mostly …

The opening of a Monty Python skit, where a bunch of people stand around sounding very pretentious and important without actually saying anything. (But you know that, in the next 20 seconds, something very silly is going to happen.)

Spoiler: Nothing silly happened.

Spoiler: I did not like this book.

Not one iota. This was such a boring, superficial, and cliché collection. It celebrates the basic (Paris! Wine! Kissing in the rain! Hot chocolate in tiny wooded cabins!) while failing to raise questions or prompt critical thinking. It’s a mirror. It’s general and voiceless. Algorithmic. A strip mall.

Click bait.

AND, FOR THE LOVE OF GOD PEOPLE. WRITING DOWN SOME TEXT FRAGMENTS WITH CREATIVE SPACING DOES NOT MAKE IT POETRY.

What I Liked:

The Stars. The inner Night Court in me goes SQUEE! whenever I see any mention of stars.

What I Didn’t Like:

The Therapist Claptrap. I swear I’ve seen some of these lines turned into art on one of my colleague’s office wall.

Favourite Quote:

There’s something magic / about airports / it’s like standing in a room / with a thousand doors.


The Details:

  • The Book: The Truth About Magic by Atticus
  • Published: 2019, St. Martin’s Griffin
  • My Copy: VIRL
  • Read date: December 23, 2019
  • Rating: ★☆☆☆☆
  • You should read this if you like … sugar-coated stanzas
  • Avoid this if you dislike … misogyny, whiskey, Paris, and soulless poetry

4 thoughts on “Review | The Truth About Magic by Atticus”

Leave a comment