Books

Review | Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by JK Rowling

822147Carrying on with the stats? Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets has sold 77 million copies worldwide – which is slightly less than The Da Vinci Code (80 million copies) but more than Prisoner of Azkaban (65 million copies).

Chamber of Secrets was never my favourite of the original three. Back before Goblet of Fire was published, I’d satisfy my Potter cravings by reading Philosopher’s Stone and Azkaban every few months – completely (and without regret) skipping over Chamber. There was just something about the book that didn’t grab me like the others.

It’s still Potter. It’s still brilliant. But …

Maybe this is my 11-year-old bias coming out – but I felt the same with this re-reading. Relative to Philosopher’s Stone and Azkaban, Chamber lacks a certain spark. There’s less passion to Rowling’s writing, and less wonder and discovery in the prose.

And, jeez … Dobby. Can you, like, chill?


The Details:

  • The Book: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by JK Rowling
  • Published: 1998, Bloomsbury
  • My Copy: via Volume One Books
  • Read date: December 24-25, 2018
  • Rating: ★★★★☆
  • You should read this if you like … spiders
  • Avoid this if you dislike … snakes

<< Check out my Philosopher’s Stone review here!

1 thought on “Review | Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by JK Rowling”

Leave a comment