Books

Review | A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab

29939230

THIS IS WHAT I WAS WAITING FOR!

… it might have taken two full books of universe-building to get here, but A Conjuring of Light was worth the wait.

The book picks up moments after A Gathering of Shadows left off — consequently, the first 10-15% is pure mayhem. From there follows a patchwork of treasure hunts, flashbacks, and back alley scuttles. It was a great end to a complex series.

Like the previous two books, I listened to A Conjuring of Light while marking exams and writing my last few patient reports … So, chances are I missed some bits and pieces. Despite this, the story had a great flow and nice pace, with enough pauses throughout to let the reader/listener catch their breath. This was primarily accomplished with alternative-perspective chapters — which, for the most part, I was pretty fond of. The exception to this was Holland’s chapters: while I really enjoyed Holland’s in situ character development, the flashbacks to his history in White London was … unnecessary? I didn’t need his horrific history spelled out.

The other characters? I still adore Kell, and Lila was – admittedly – a little less annoying. The character, that is. I wasn’t a huge fan of how the author handled her: I didn’t need to be reminded every-other sentence that she’s a thief / fighter / badass / powerful / unique. There were so many other facets of her identity that could have been explored.

Final thoughts: The Shades of Magic trilogy offers readers a good dose of action and a unique take on magic. While the pace can sometimes drag, the series is definitely worth a read for those who love a well-constructed, rule-bound universe.


The Details:

  • The Book: A Conjuring of Light by V. E. Schwab
  • Published: 2017, Tor Books
  • My Copy: Audiobook, thanks to the KFPL
  • Read date: December 12-18, 2018
  • Rating: ★★★★☆
  • You should read this if you like … blood, magic, and blood magic
  • Avoid this if you dislike … the Pit of Despair

<< Check out my A Gathering of Shadows review here!

2 thoughts on “Review | A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab”

Leave a comment